OliKrom on Replay “Innovation Day 2016”

Revolutions waiting to happen about “chameleon” pigments in Pessac.

A Gironde company has developed a new generation of smart pigments: frontage changing of colours depending on the time for energy savings, labels bottles when the wine is at temperature and much more….

 

An innovation that attracts many industrials sectors, from luxury to aeronautic….​

Many small and medium-sized company would dream of knowing the situation of OliKrom, young start-up situated on the university campus of Pessac, near Bordeaux: since its launching in 2014, there are no days within that a dozens of company or important industrials groups contact the start-up, interested by the innovative technology of OliKrom, created by Jean-François Létard.

Chemist at the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) for 17 years, the entrepreneur specialized himself in “intelligent” pigments capable of reacting, changing color depending on the temperature, light or pressure. Since 2005, patents increased and the researcher have decided to take the step of entrepreneurship.

A business school training and a few years of incubation later, OliKrom is launched.

And industrialists are rushing. According to Jean-François Létard, they have been waiting for a long time for the renewal of technologies, after the appearance “some 40 years ago” of the first pigments able to change color, but ” not able to resist to ultraviolet, had problems and could be toxic “.

The processes developed by OliKrom make enable the “molecules to change their conformation, and their color”, “with the least possible disturbances”, allowing even very precise, reversible or irreversible modifications.

The “speed” and “non-fatigability” of the process are also at the heart of new materials, says the researcher.

Infinite applications: ​

Another crucial factor in the “hyper-growth” of the young company, which has ten employees and plans to launch an industrial site by the end of 2015 thanks to a recent capital raising of 740,000 €.

Fields of application appear quite simply … infinite.

Together, sectors of luxury, design, decoration and fashion, about intelligent textiles, have already shown their interest to use them in paints, varnishes, inks or plastic pellets.

We can imagine perfume bottle changing of colours, personalized items says Jean-François Létard, but without saying too much details, concerned about confidentiality.

“That can be useful for the fight against counterfeiting, thanks to hidden marking revealed under a specific light or temperature, for health safety thanks to barcodes that change color irreversibly when the cold chain has been broken … “, enumerates Camille Tanguy, in charge of the commercial.

Furthermore, architecture or sport also present an outlet: curtains become opaque at the sun, storage of light through luminescent ceilings, tennis court changing color at the impact of the ball. Especially as the “combinations” of the properties of pigments appear “unlimited”, Underlines Clément Chatelier, laboratory manager.

But one of the most important fields of application of this technological revolution is undoubtedly concerning the security, especially industrial security. OliKrom is already working with the Airbus and Safran groups on the parts that will equip the planes of tomorrow, because, for maintenance, “one of the stakes is being able to quickly see if a part suffers from an abnormal impact”. In plants, the traces of wear and tear of the equipment can, in the same way, be “visually controlled”.

We can also imagine a reduction of work accident or domestic due to the change of color of tools or utensils subjected to high temperatures or a change of color about security doors in case of fire.

And what we are supposed to say about the possibilities thanks to pigments able to react to the presence of gas or solvents, on which the company continues its research?

“The market is vast, it is logical that other companies will appear”, predicts Jean-François Létard, proud that this innovative technology is French, while pointing out the importance of the public aids that allowed to mature its project. And, like its pigments “chameleon”, to pass without difficulty from the status of researcher to an entrepreneur status.

OliKrom en Replay – « Innovation Day 2016 »

La révolution en marche des pigments « caméléon » de Pessac

Façades changeant de couleur en fonction du temps pour des économies d’énergie, étiquettes de bouteilles se modifiant lorsque le vin est à température: une entreprise girondine a mis au point une nouvelle génération de pigments « intelligents ».

UNE INNOVATION QUE S’ARRACHENT DE MULTIPLES SECTEURS INDUSTRIELS, DU LUXE À L’AÉRONAUTIQUE​

Nombreuses sont les Petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) qui rêveraient de connaître la situation d’Olikrom, jeune start-up installée sur le campus universitaire de Pessac, près de Bordeaux: depuis son lancement en octobre 2014, pas un jour sans qu’une dizaine d’entreprises ou de groupes industriels ne l’appellent, intéressés par la technologie innovante mise au point depuis quelques années par son fondateur, Jean-François Létard.

Chimiste au Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) pendant 17 ans, l’entrepreneur s’est spécialisé dans les pigments « intelligents » capables de réagir, en changeant de couleur, à la température, la lumière ou la pression. A partir de 2005, les brevets s’accumulent et le chercheur décide de franchir le pas de l’entrepreneuriat.

Une formation en école de commerce et quelques années d’incubation plus tard, Olikrom est lancée. Et les industriels accourent. Car, explique Jean-François Létard, ils attendaient depuis longtemps le renouvellement des technologies, après l’apparition « il y a une quarantaine d’années » des premiers pigments capables de changer de couleur, mais « qui ne résistaient pas aux ultra-violets, avaient des problèmes d’usure et pouvaient être toxiques ».
Les procédés mis au point par Olikrom permettent ainsi aux « molécules de changer de conformation, et donc de couleur », « avec le moins de perturbations possibles », autorisant d’ailleurs des modifications très précises, réversibles ou irréversibles.
La « rapidité » et la « non-fatigabilité » du processus sont également au cœur des nouveaux matériaux, souligne le chercheur.

APPLICATIONS INFINIES ​

Autre facteur crucial de « l’hypercroissance » de la jeune société, qui compte sept collaborateurs et prévoit le lancement d’un site industriel d’ici à fin 2015 grâce à une récente levée de fonds de 740.000 euros: les champs d’application semblent tout simplement … infinis.
Les secteurs du luxe, du design, de la décoration, de la mode, avec les textiles intelligents, ont déjà manifesté leur intérêt pour les peintures, vernis, encres ou granulés de plastique produits par l’entreprise.

On peut imaginer des flacons de parfum qui changent de couleur, des objets personnalisés confie Jean-François Létard, mais sans fournir plus de détails, soucieux de confidentialité.

« Cela peut être utile pour la lutte contre la contrefaçon, grâce à des marquages dissimulés se révélant sous une certaine lumière ou à une température donnée, pour la sécurité alimentaire grâce à des code-barres qui changent de couleur de manière irréversible lorsque la chaîne du froid a été rompue… », énumère Camille Tanguy, chargée du commercial.

L’architecture ou le sport offrent aussi de multiples débouchés: rideaux s’opacifiant au soleil, stockage de lumière à travers des plafonds luminescents, terrain de tennis changeant de couleur à l’impact de la balle pour l’arbitrage… D’autant que les « combinaisons » des propriétés des pigments paraissent « illimitées », souligne Clément Chatelier, responsable de laboratoire.

Mais un des plus vastes champs d’application de cette révolution technologique est, sans nul doute, celui de la sécurité, notamment industrielle. Olikrom travaille déjà avec les groupes Airbus et Safran sur les pièces qui équiperont les avions de demain, car, pour la maintenance, « un des enjeux, c’est d’être capable de voir rapidement si une pièce a subi un choc anormal ». Dans les usines, les traces d’usure des équipements pourront, de la même façon, être « contrôlées de visu ».
On peut également imaginer une réduction des accidents du travail ou domestiques grâce au changement de couleur d’outils ou d’ustensiles soumis à des températures élevées ou encore une modification de couleur des portes de sécurité en cas d’incendie…

Et que dire des possibilités ouvertes par des pigments capables de réagir à la présence de gaz ou de solvants, sur lesquels l’entreprise poursuit ses recherches ?

« Le marché est immense, d’autres entreprises vont s’y mettre« , prédit Jean-François Létard, qui se félicite que cette technologie innovante soit française, tout en soulignant l’importance de l’écosystème d’aides publiques qui lui ont permis de mûrir son projet. Et, à l’image de ses pigments « caméléon », de passer sans difficulté du statut de chercheur à celui d’entrepreneur.