Color changing materials, mistakes to avoid to save time!

Sensitive, reactive, these so-called intelligent materials change and change color under the influence of heat, light or mechanical stimulation (stretching, impact).

Illustration of a photochrom coating developed by the OliKrom team

With the birth of SmartKrom® color-change materials, thermochromic (temperature-active), photochromic and photoluminescent (light-activated), piezochromic (pressure active), chemiochromic (active in the presence of a solvent or a gas), the first mistake is to consider that these pigments are classic additives to add to a paint, an ink, … The first consequence is often the degradation of the Chameleon property.

Behind this SmartKrom® color change property, these materials involve a physical phase transition process related to a structural modification of isomerization, cyclization (or ring opening), electron transfer, protons, hydrogen atoms and / or spin state, …

This is not magic!

The first challenge: choosing the right family

photoluminescent inks

An OliKrom synthesis, mastered step by step

Today there are several commercialized technologies. Some have been known for several decades. However, it is important to think carefully before choosing a generation of intelligent materials.

Some processes are extremely fragile and have a very limited exposure to ultraviolet exposure, which greatly reduces the use of these materials in outdoor conditions.

Others contain restricted substances, such as bisphenol A (BPA) and / or toxic metals, which will severely limit the end use.

The second challenge: mastering the color change in the state of the finished product

thermochromic color changing inks heat sensitive

Mastering the SmartKrom property at every stage of preparation

These intelligent materials are extremely sensitive to their environment and too many industrial developments are today halted by a lack of knowledge of the thermodynamic processes involved during the color change. The grinding and formulation steps modify the physico-chemical environment of the pigments. It is therefore essential to control the SmartKrom® property at each stage, until the finished product. For this, it is necessary to use absorption and fluorescence spectrometers, diffuse reflectivity devices to track the color change as a function of temperature, …

The third challenge: to properly program the color change

The existence of several physical processes involved in the color change allows, if they are well controlled, to adapt to industrial demands. It is a real programming of the pigment so that the color change intervenes reversibly or irreversibly, at a defined disturbance threshold. It is also necessary to take into account the fatigability of the intelligent material in its final use, namely, the duration of the phenomenon of color change (number of cycles), speed of the phenomenon (round-trip), …

The fourth challenge: hoping for a finished product “off the shelf”

The OliKrom team is often asked, in order to save time, to order a finished product “off the shelf” to satisfy an industrial need. The reality is different !

Each specification has its particularities with regard to, for example, the desired SmartKrom® property, the requirements for formatting during the industrial process, the desired durability or the regulatory aspects … Each of these elements is essential to synthesize the right pigment and formulate the optimal intelligent solution (paint, ink, …). The consequence of poor selection is the rapid degradation of Chameleon color change properties, photoluminescence, …

The OliKrom contribution: the control of the production of the pigment in the formulation ink, paint, …

OliKrom LumiKrom® Photoluminescent Coating

To meet industrial specifications, the OliKrom team has gained international recognition in the field of SmartKrom® and color intelligence for industrial safety.

The know-how of its doctors and chemical engineers, in organic, hybrid and inorganic chemistry allows to synthesize, according to the desired criteria, the optimal pigment, and to master all the stages of formulation. At each step, the smart property sought is controlled.

Each industrial development is made “to measure”, there is no “off the shelf” solution. On the other hand, the experience acquired by the OliKrom team in the field of SmartKrom® makes it possible to take into account the global dimension of the project by integrating all the facets, from the desired property to the industrial and regulatory aspects … The technical and economic dimensions and confidentiality are also at the heart of our approach.

To guarantee the quality of its products and ensure complete satisfaction for our industrial partners, OliKrom distributes only intelligent coatings, in the form of ink, paint, masterbatch.

 

Do not hesitate to entrust us with your project!

 

The experts of OliKrom are at your service …

Matériaux à changement de couleur, les erreurs à éviter pour gagner du temps !

Sensibles, réactifs, ces matériaux dits intelligents se transforment et changent de couleur sous l’influence de la chaleur, de la lumière ou d’une stimulation mécanique (étirement, impact).

 
Illustration d’un revêtement photochrome développé par l’équipe OliKrom

Avec la naissance des matériaux à changement de couleur SmartKrom®, thermochromes (actifs à la température), photochromes et photoluminescents (actifs à la lumière), piézochromes (actifs à la pression), chimiochromes (actifs en présence d’un solvant ou d’un gaz), l’erreur première est de considérer que ces pigments sont des additifs classiques à ajouter à une peinture, une encre,… La conséquence première est bien souvent la dégradation de la propriété Caméléon.

Derrière cette propriété de changement de couleur SmartKrom®, ces matériaux mettent en jeu un processus physique de transition de phase lié à une modification structurale d’isomérisation, de cyclisation (ou ouverture de cycle), de transfert d’électrons, de protons, d’atomes d’hydrogène et/ou d’état de spin,…

Il s’agit nullement de magie !

 

Le premier défi : bien choisir la famille

photoluminescent inks
Une synthèse OliKrom, maîtrisée étape par étape
 

Il existe aujourd’hui plusieurs technologies commercialisées. Certaines sont connues depuis plusieurs dizaines d’années. Il convient toutefois de bien réfléchir avant de choisir une génération de matériaux intelligents.

Certains processus sont extrêmement fragiles et ont une tenue très limitée à l’exposition des ultraviolets, ce qui réduit fortement l’usage de ces matériaux en condition extérieure.

D’autres contiennent des substances à usage restreint, à l’exemple du bisphénol A (BPA) et/ou des métaux toxiques qui limiteront fortement l’usage final.

 

Le deuxième défi : maîtriser le changement de couleur à l’état du produit fini

 
thermochromic color changing inks heat sensitive
La maîtrise de la propriété SmartKrom à chaque étape de la préparation

Ces matériaux intelligents sont extrêmement sensibles à leur environnement et trop de développements industriels sont aujourd’hui stoppés par une méconnaissance des processus thermodynamiques impliqués au cours du changement de couleur. Les étapes de broyage et de formulation modifient l’environnement physico-chimique des pigments. Il est en conséquence indispensable de contrôler la propriété SmartKrom® à chaque étape, jusqu’au produit fini. Pour cela, il convient d’utiliser des spectromètres d’absorption et de fluorescence, des appareils de réflectivité diffuse permettant de suivre la modification de couleur en fonction de la température,…

 

Le troisième défi : bien programmer le changement de couleur

 

L’existence de plusieurs processus physiques impliqués dans le changement de couleur permet, s’ils sont bien maîtrisés, de s’adapter aux demandes industrielles. Ils s’agit d’une véritable programmation du pigment pour que le changement de couleur intervienne de façon réversible ou irréversible, à un seuil de perturbation défini. Il convient également de prendre en compte la fatigabilité du matériau intelligent dans son usage final, à savoir, la durée du phénomène de changement de couleur (nombre de cycles), rapidité du phénomène (aller-retour),…

 

Le quatrième défi : espérer un produit fini « sur étagère »

 

On demande souvent à l’équipe OliKrom, pour gagner du temps, de commander un produit fini « sur étagère » pour satisfaire un besoin industriel. La réalité est toute autre !

Chaque cahier des charges a ses particularités au regard, par exemple, de la propriété SmartKrom® recherchée, des exigences de mise en forme au cours du processus industriel, de la durabilité souhaitée ou encore des aspects réglementaires… Chacun de ces éléments est essentiel pour synthétiser le bon pigment et formuler la solution intelligente optimale (peinture, encre,…). La conséquence d’une mauvaise sélection est la dégradation rapide des propriétés de changement de couleur Caméléon, de la photoluminescence,…

 

L’apport OliKrom : la maîtrise de la production du pigment à la formulation encre, peinture,…

 
Revêtement photoluminescent LumiKrom® d’OliKrom

Pour répondre au cahier des charges industriel, l’équipe OliKrom a acquis une reconnaissance internationale dans le domaine des SmartKrom® et de l’intelligence des couleurs au service de la sécurité industrielle.

Le savoir-faire de ses docteurs et ingénieurs chimistes, en chimie organique, hybride et inorganique permet de synthétiser, en fonction des critères recherchés, le pigment optimal, et de maîtriser l’ensemble des étapes de formulation. A chaque étape, la propriété intelligente recherchée est contrôlée.

Chaque développement industriel est réalisé « sur mesure », il n’existe pas de solution « sur étagère ». Par contre, l’expérience acquise par l’équipe OliKrom dans le domaine des SmartKrom® permet de prendre en compte la dimension globale du projet en intégrant l’ensemble des facettes, depuis la propriété recherchée jusqu’aux aspects industriels et réglementaires… Les dimensions technico-économiques et confidentialité sont également au cœur de notre démarche.

Pour garantir la qualité de ses produits et assurer une entière satisfaction pour nos partenaires industriels, OliKrom distribue uniquement les revêtements intelligents, sous forme d’encre, de peinture, de mélange-maître. 

N’hésitez pas à nous confier votre projet !

Les experts d’OliKrom sont à votre écoute…