Thermochromic coatings

SAMSUNG CSC

 
A thermochromic coating (from Greek thermos temperature and color chromos) is, by definition, made up of a pigment / dye whose optical properties change as a function of temperature. Today there are 3 major families: organic thermochromic materials such as liquid crystals or ‘leuco dyes’, hybrids and inorganics. The physical mechanisms at the origin of the color change are an electron or proton transfer, a change of coordination site, an intramolecular cyclization, ... Each of these families presents, according to the industrial specification concerned, advantages and disadvantages.

The main pitfalls too often encountered are the sensitivity to ultraviolet, the low coloring power, the limited thermal resistance (200-240 ° C), the loss of properties during the formulation and / or the industrial process, the toxicity of certain elements components …

And yet, the opportunities are real if the constituents are well selected. Depending on the selected ingredients, the thermochromic property becomes reversible or irreversible, the color change threshold is adjustable over a wide temperature range (from -200 ° C to + 1000 ° C) and the modification of the optical properties can be generated in the Ultra-Violet, Visible and / or Infrared region.

Competitive and economic context:

Several uses of thermochromic coatings nowadays mark our daily life, like the inks of FRIXION® pens, which fade under the heating of an eraser, colored indicators encountered for example on batteries, beers and / or play articles.

But the greatest opportunities concern sustainable industrial uses, characterized by good UV resistance. The strategic analysis Color-Shifting Materials Market Opportunities – 2015/2022 reports several Mass Markets in the fields of construction, automotive, cosmetics, luxury, … and identifies OliKrom as a major player at the international level.

link to the strategic analysis: https://globenewswire.com/news-release/2015/12/18/796765/0/en/Color-Shifting-Materials-Market-Opportunities-2015-Forecasts-to-2022-Thermochromism-Photochromism-Electrochromism-Solvatochromism-Cathodchromism-Electrophoresis.html

Les revêtements thermochromes

SAMSUNG CSCUn revêtement thermochrome (du grec thermos la température et chromos la couleur) est, par définition, constitué d’un pigment/colorant dont les propriétés optiques changent en fonction de la température. Il existe aujourd’hui des 3 grandes familles : les matériaux thermochromes organiques à l’exemple des cristaux liquides ou `leuco colorants’, les hybrides et les inorganiques. Les mécanismes physiques à l’origine du changement de couleur sont un transfert d’électron ou de proton, un changement de site de coordination, une cyclisation intramoléculaire,… Chacune de ces familles présente en fonction du cahier des charges industriel visé des avantages et des inconvénients.

Les principaux écueils trop souvent rencontrés sont la sensibilité aux ultraviolets, le faible pouvoir colorant, la résistance thermique limitée (200-240°C), la perte des propriétés au cours de la formulation et/ou le processus industriel, la toxicité de certains éléments constituants…

Et pourtant, les opportunités sont bien réelles si les constituants sont bien sélectionnés. En fonction des ingrédients sélectionnés, la propriété thermochrome devient réversible ou irréversible, le seuil de changement de couleur est ajustable sur une large gamme de température (de -200°C à +1000°C) et la modification des propriétés optiques peut-être générée dans la région Ultra-Violette, Visible et/ou Infrarouge.

 

Contexte concurrentiel et économique :

 

rouages-marketing-web

Plusieurs usages de revêtements thermochromes jalonnent aujourd’hui notre vie au quotidien, à l’exemple des encres des stylos FRIXION®, qui s’effacent sous l’échauffement d’une gomme, des indicateurs colorés rencontrés par  exemple sur des piles, des bières, et/ou des articles ludiques.

Mais les plus grandes opportunités concernent les usages industriels durables, caractérisés par une bonne résistance UV. L’analyse stratégique Color-Shifting Materials Market Opportunities – 2015/2022  rapporte plusieurs Mass Markets dans les domaines BTP, automobile, cosmétique, luxe,… et identifie OliKrom comme un acteur majeur à l’échelle internationale.

lien vers l’analyse stratégique : https://globenewswire.com/news-release/2015/12/18/796765/0/en/Color-Shifting-Materials-Market-Opportunities-2015-Forecasts-to-2022-Thermochromism-Photochromism-Electrochromism-Solvatochromism-Cathodchromism-Electrophoresis.html