Smart materials

An “intelligent” (smart) material is sensitive, adaptive and evolutionary. It is opposed to the conventional material, inert by definition, whose characteristics remain the same regardless of the stresses to which this material is subjected.

SAMSUNG CSCsmart material has functions that allow it to behave as a sensor (detect signals), an actuator (perform an action on its environment) or sometimes as a processor (process, compare, store information). This material is able to spontaneously modify its physical properties, in particular its shape, its connectivity, its viscosity or its color, in response to natural or induced excitations. These can come from outside or inside the material: temperature variations, mechanical stress, electric or magnetic fields. The material will adapt its response, signal a change in the environment and in some cases cause a correction action.

One of the most important families is that of X-chrome materials, which change color under the effect of external excitation (temperature, light, pressure, humidity, etc.). It thus becomes possible to detect by a simple color change structural weaknesses in the coating of an aircraft, exceeding a temperature threshold, etc.

The creation of a synergy between “intelligence and color“, namely the ability to change color and become adaptive / interactive with the surrounding world, opens a field of application without limit. In fact, the main technology lock is to master the interactivity of these materials to the finished product. This requires to control throughout the production chain the maintenance of the “smart” property sought (color involved, trigger threshold, speed, reversibility / irreversibility), at each step:

  • of design and synthesis of the “intelligent” pigment,
  • formulation in an ink, a paint, a masterbatch, and also
  • industrial integration on a production line, through the implementation of a quality and certification approach, particularly in sectors associated with safety issues.

Competitive and economic context:

Since the beginning of the 90s, the major events devoted specifically to adaptive materials, generally called “intelligent”, are multiplying around the world: “European conference on smart structures and materials”, “ICIMN2016 International conference on intelligent materials”(http://www.icimn.org/).

Afficher l'image d'origine

All major industrial powers have understood the issues and are now involved in major research programs.

Various strategic studies have recently been published, highlighting the importance of these materials as a source of innovation and differentiation with high added value:

2016 Global Smart Materials Industry Market Research Report published in May 2016 (https://www.whatech.com/market-research/materials-chemicals/157389-latest-report-on-smart-materials-industry-market-trends-profit-and-key-manufacturers-analysis-published-by-leading-research-firm)

Color-Shifting Materials Market Opportunities – 2015 to 2022 (https://globenewswire.com/news-release/2015/12/18/796765/0/en/Color-Shifting-Materials-Market-Opportunities-2015-Forecasts-to-2022-Thermochromism-Photochromism-Electrochromism-Solvatochromism-Cathodchromism-Electrophoresis.html)

In this context of valorization of the color intelligence, OliKrom accompanies the industrialists of all sectors in their approach of innovation, from the idea to the recurring production, including support services of analysis and quality control. The expertise of its team allows to adapt to the demand and to design the intelligent solution adapted to the specifications, then to formulate and produce on an industrial scale inks, paints, functionalized masterbatches.

Les matériaux intelligents

Un matériau « intelligent » est sensible, adaptatif et évolutif. Il s’oppose au matériau classique, inerte par définition, dont les caractéristiques restent toujours les mêmes quelles que soient les sollicitations auxquelles ce matériau est soumis.

SAMSUNG CSCLe matériau intelligent possède des fonctions qui lui permettent de se comporter comme un capteur (détecter des signaux), un actionneur (effectuer une action sur son environnement) ou parfois comme un processeur (traiter, comparer, stocker des informations). Ce matériau est capable de modifier spontanément ses propriétés physiques, notamment sa forme, sa connectivité, sa viscosité ou sa couleur, en réponse à des excitations naturelles ou provoquées. Celles-ci peuvent venir de l’extérieur ou de l’intérieur du matériau : variations de température, de contraintes mécaniques, de champs électriques ou magnétiques. Le matériau va donc adapter sa réponse, signaler une modification apparue dans l’environnement et dans certains cas, provoquer une action de correction.

L’une des familles particulièrement importantes est celle des matériaux X-chromes, qui changent de couleur sous l’effet d’une excitation extérieure (température, lumière, pression, taux d’humidité, etc). Il devient ainsi possible de détecter par un simple changement de couleur des faiblesses de structure dans le revêtement d’un avion, un dépassement d’un seuil de température,…

La création d’une synergie entre « intelligence et couleur », à savoir cette capacité de changer de couleur et de devenir adaptatif/interactif avec le monde environnant, ouvre un champ d’application sans limite. En réalité, le principal verrou technologique est de maîtriser l’interactivité de ces matériaux jusqu’au produit fini. Cela impose de maîtriser tout au long de la chaîne de fabrication le maintien de la propriété « intelligente » recherchée (couleur mise en jeu, seuil de déclenchement, vitesse, réversibilité/irréversibilité), à chacune des étapes :

  • de conception et de synthèse du pigment « intelligent »,
  • de formulation dans une encre, une peinture, un mélange-maître, et également
  • d’intégration industrielle sur chaîne de production, par la mise en place de démarche de qualité et de certification, notamment dans les secteurs associés à des enjeux de sécurité.

 

Contexte concurrentiel et économique :

Depuis le début des années 90, les grands rendez-vous consacrés spécifiquement aux matériaux adaptatifs, appelés généralement « intelligents », se multiplient à travers le monde : « European conference on smart structures and materials », « ICIMN2016 International conference on intelligent materials » (http://www.icimn.org/).

Afficher l'image d'origineToutes les grandes puissances industrielles ont bien compris les enjeux et sont aujourd’hui impliquées dans d’importants programmes de recherche.

Diverses études stratégiques viennent récemment d’être publiées, soulignant l’importance de ces matériaux comme source d’innovation et de différentiation à forte valeur ajoutée :

2016 Global Smart Materials Industry Market Research Report published in May 2016 (https://www.whatech.com/market-research/materials-chemicals/157389-latest-report-on-smart-materials-industry-market-trends-profit-and-key-manufacturers-analysis-published-by-leading-research-firm)

Color-Shifting Materials Market Opportunities – 2015 to 2022 (https://globenewswire.com/news-release/2015/12/18/796765/0/en/Color-Shifting-Materials-Market-Opportunities-2015-Forecasts-to-2022-Thermochromism-Photochromism-Electrochromism-Solvatochromism-Cathodchromism-Electrophoresis.html)

Dans ce contexte de valorisation de l’intelligence des couleurs, OliKrom accompagne les industriels de tous secteurs dans leur démarche d’innovation, de l’idée jusqu’à la production récurrente, incluant des services supports d’analyse et de contrôle qualité. L’expertise de son équipe permet de s’adapter à la demande et de concevoir la solution intelligente adaptée au cahier des charges, puis de formuler et produire à l’échelle industrielle les encres, les peintures, les mélanges maîtres fonctionalisés